Rajshahi Royals win maiden Bangabandhu BPL
Saturday, 18 Jan 2020 00:22 am

Rajshahi Royals have clinched their maiden Bangladesh Premier League title with a 21-run win over Khulna Tigers.

Earlier, Rajshahi set a 171-run target of Khulna Tigers at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur on Friday.

Andre Russell and Mohammad Nawaz posted 74 runs off 34 balls.

Russsell hit 27 runs off 16 balls with 3 sixes while Nawaz 41 runs off 20 balls with 6 fours and 2 sixes.

Irfan Sukkur (wk) smashed 52 runs off 35 balls with 6 fours and 2 sixes while Liton Das hit 25 runs from 28 runs with a four and a six.

The special edition of the tournament was named after Bangabandhu on his birth centenary.