JP candidate Mostafa wins Rangpur city polls

Sunday, 01 Aug 2021 04:49:25 pm

Friday, 22 Dec 2017 12:16:51 pm

JP candidate Mostafa wins Rangpur city polls

JP candidate Mostafa wins Rangpur city polls

Jatiya Party-nominated candidate Mostafizur Rahman Mostafa has won the Rangpur City Corporation polls defeating his nearest rival Awami League-nominated candidate Sarfuddin Ahmed Jhantu.

Returning Officer Subhash Chandra Sarkar formally announced the unofficial results around 12:20 am after completion of vote counting of all the 193 polling centres at police control room in the city.

Mostafizur Rahman Mostafa bagged 1,60,489 votes with his party symbol 'Plough' against 62,400 votes with party symbol of 'Boat' of his nearest rival Sarfuddin Ahmed Jhantu.

BNP-nominated candidate Kawsar Zaman Babla secured the third place bagging 35,136 votes with symbol Sheaf of Paddy.

Besides, mayoral post candidates Selim Akhter of National Peoples Party got 811 votes with symbol 'Mango', ATM Golam Mostafa of Islami Shasontantra Andolan Bangladesh got 24,006 votes with symbol 'Hand Fan', Abdul Kuddus of BSD got 1,262 votes with symbol 'Ladder' and independent Hossain Mokbul Shahriar bagged 2,319 votes with symbol 'Elephant'.

A total of 2,92,723 voters exercised their franchise out of 3,93,994 in the RpCC polls and the casting percentage stood at 74.29 percent.

Talking to reporters after announcement of results, Mostafa expressed his instant reaction saying the polls were held in a peaceful and impartial manner amid huge festivity reflecting the choice of the people of Rangpur city.

"My victory is the victory of the people of Rangpur city---- I will engage my fullest efforts in turning RpCC into a modernised and beautiful city in a planned manner ensuring all required civic amenities," Mostafa added.

Thirty-three councilors for 33 general wards and 11 reserved female councilors for 11 reserved wards were also elected in the RpCC elections simultaneously.

A total of 283 candidates including seven for the posts of mayor, 211 for 33 the general councilor and 65 for the 11 reserved councilors contested in the RpCC polls.

The returning officer congratulated all participating candidates and winners and thanked the people of Rangpur, election officials, members of law enforcement agencies and journalists for all-out cooperation in holding the RpCC polls peacefully in a festive atmosphere.

Divisional Commissioner Kazi Hasan Ahmed, Deputy Inspector General for Rangpur Range Khondker Golam Faruk, Deputy Commissioner Muhammad Wahiduzzaman and Police Super Mizanur Rahman also expressed their satisfaction for peacefully holding of the RpCC election in a free, fair, transparent impartial manner amid festivity.