21 receive Ekushey Padak this year

Saturday, 24 Jul 2021 11:06:35 am

Tuesday, 20 Feb 2018 01:21:34 pm

21 receive Ekushey Padak this year

21 receive Ekushey Padak this year

A total of 21 eminent citizens in the country have been awarded the prestigious Ekushey Padak in 2018 for outstanding contributions to their respective fields.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has handed over the Ekushey Padak to the awardees at a programme held at Osmani Memorial Auditorium in the capital today.

Private TV channel NEWS24, a sister concern of the Daily Kalerkantho, has reported the news.

The authorities of Cultural Affairs Ministry have organized the programme in the city when each recipient of Ekushey Padak got a gold medal, a certificate and a cheque of Taka 2 lakh.

On February 8, the government announced the names of 21 eminent citizens for awarding prestigious Ekushey Padak for 2018.

According to the press release from the Ministry of Cultural Affairs, the awardees are- AJM Takiullah (posthumous) and Professor Mirza Mazharul Islam in language movement, Sheikh Sadi Khan, Sujoeyo Shyam, Indra Mohan Rajbangshi, Md Khurshid Alam and Matiul Haque Khan in music, Begum Minu Haque (Minu Billah) in dance, Humayun Faridi (posthumous) in acting, Nikhil Sen in Drama, Kalidas Karmakar in fine arts, Golam Mustafa in photography, Ranesh Moitro in journalism, Language Veteran Professor Zulekha Haque (posthumous) in research, Dr Mainul Islam in economics, Ilias Kanchan in social service, Syed Manjurul Islam, Saiful Islam Khan (poet Hayat Saif), Subrata Barua, Rabiul Hussain and Khalekdad Chowdhury (posthumous) in language and literature.

Ekushey Padak is the second highest civilian awards in Bangladesh.