Bangladesh won by 6 wickets against Ireland

Sunday, 01 Aug 2021 04:36:39 pm

Thursday, 16 May 2019 12:24:12 am

Bangladesh won by 6 wickets against Ireland

Bangladesh won by 6 wickets against Ireland

Bangladesh won by 6 wickets against Ireland in the ongoing tri nation series at the Clontarf Cricket Club ground in Dublin on Wednesday. The openers, Tamim and Liton laid the platform with 117-run partnership. Once Tamim departed, Shakib took the responsibility. He scored a fifty too and then retired due to side strain. By that time Bangladesh had almost wrapped up the game. 

It was a mere formality and the calming presence of Mahmudullah ensured that the Asian country achieve the target without much fuss. The opener Liton Das was the highest scorer for the visitors with 76 off 67 balls. And for Ireland, Boyd Rankin picked up a couple of wickets.

Earlier hosts Ireland posted a big total of 292 for 8 in 50 overs against finalist Bangladesh. Abu Jayed Rahi, the right-arm pacer of Bangladesh, bagged his maiden five-wicket haul in his 2nd ODI appearance conceding 58 runs in nine overs.  

Earlier, Ireland won the toss and decided to bat first but they failed to make an impressive start as they lost the first wicket in just 23 runs, but they made comfortable the total of 292 runs, featuring 118 runs in the 3rd wicket stand by centurion Paul Stirling and captain William Porterfield.


Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wicket-keeper), Mahmudullah Riyad, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza(captain), Sabbir Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Abu Jayed Rahi, Mosaddek Hossain and Mohammad Saifuddin

Paul Stirling, James McCollum, Andy Balbirnie, William Porterfield (captain), Kevin O’Brien, Mark Adair, Gary Wilson (wicket-keeper), George Dockrell, Boyd Rankin, Barry McCarthy and Josh Little.