PM inaugurates Bangabandhu BPL

Friday, 06 Aug 2021 12:27:20 am

Monday, 09 Dec 2019 12:22:45 am

PM inaugurates Bangabandhu BPL

PM inaugurates Bangabandhu BPL

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina inaugurated the Bangabandhu BPL at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur at 6:56pm on Sunday.

The opening ceremony began with the musical performance of local artistes at 5:40pm.

The main event will kick off on December 11 at the same venue with Chattogram Challengers taking on Sylhet Thunder in the opening match.

A total of seven teams will participate in this special edition of BPL which is rebranded as Bangabandhu BPL to pay tributes to Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman marking his birth centenary.

The teams are Dhaka Platoon, Chattogram Challengers, Comilla Warriors, Khulna Tigers, Rangpur Rangers, Rajshahi Royals and Sylhet Thunder. 

A total of 46 matches will be played. In the league phase, 42 matches will be played while in the playoffs, a total of four matches will take place. 

The final of the event will be held on January 17, 2020.